Home > Uncategorized > Coming Out on National TV

Coming Out on National TV

Last Sunday, March 25, I came out publicly as a free thinker  on MSNBC’s  “Up W/ Chris Hayes.”   Here’s a link to the show:

Mike Aus on “Up With Chris” on MSNBC

If that link doesn’t work I apologize.  I’m still a relative Luddite when it comes to this stuff.   If you Google my name  Mike Aus, along with “Up W/ Chris Hayes” you should find the link no problem.

Also, you can now follow me on Twitter @MikeAus1

So, now that I am no longer undercover, the nature of the blog will change somewhat.  I will keep you posted.  Thanks to all of you who have been reading it and making comments.  I sure hope we can continue the conversation.

Talk to you soon,

Mike

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. considerateatheist
    April 2, 2012 at 2:44 am

    Great interview, congratulations on coming out!

  2. April 2, 2012 at 3:18 am

    congrats! 🙂

  3. Alan
    April 2, 2012 at 4:58 am

    Congratulations on coming out! I imagine that doing it on national television was very nerve-wracking; I’m impressed with your bravery.

  4. Mulegirl TX
    April 2, 2012 at 6:37 am

    Oh my, yes, I think that must’ve been very difficult to do…and I, too, am impressed with your bravery. I have not been as vocal on my understanding of life without a supernatural being, though I would like to be (I did put atheist in my Facebook profile, and am amazed at how few people notice or comment on that). So I must admit to some fear around overtly expressing my views, especially among my family (mostly Catholic, but some evangelicals, also), and even more so for purposes of work, as I live in rural Texas. Most of my work as of today is through believing friends and colleagues. But among people that I really, really care about in terms of their growth as a human being, I try to slip in a bit here and there, as my own experience is that I grew immensely happier in life when I quit asking why some “higher power” would let bad things happen. Well, duh, life is what it is, and there isn’t any powerful entity taking care of some of us and throwing the rest of us under the bus at times.

    But because I spent so many years wasting my time in trying to figure out what I needed to do in order to stop the bad, I wish for others to find the freedom inherent in facing reality. So I admire your strength, and look forward to hearing how this plays out.

    BTW, I, too, made a transition through reading many of the same people you mention. And it was complete after finishing “The Selfish Gene.” 🙂 I still remember the kind of foggy-headedness that came with my realization that much of what I had held “sacred” was wishful thinking. But then I started to look at life through that Darwinian lens, and lo and behold, life was fresh and new and exciting again. And, further, it has stayed that way, some 15 years on. Before my awakening (as I like to call it), I had been raised Catholic, but had dabbled in a wide variety of belief systems, culminating in California new-agey stuff (I lived in L.A. then), including making money as an astrologer! Fortunately for me, I had a friend who questioned me on some of that, which sent me to look for ways to prove it. And THAT led to my realization that it could not be proven. Since then I’ve spoken and written from time to time on what I learned about how we humans can read so much more into something (like an astrology reading) than was actually there. Cold reading became very clear to me, and I realized my quick read of others (borne from my love of spending time observing non-humans as a child) was serving me well in my shared delusion of “reading charts.” 😉

  5. April 2, 2012 at 2:21 pm

    Awesome, Mike. I know it was not easy, and must have taken a lot of courage.

  6. Jesus
    April 3, 2012 at 2:31 pm

    I’m glad to hear that you’re out and I look forward to seeing how your blog evolves.

    I’ve been following your story for about half a year now, almost like a child watches a masked superhero and tries to guess what they really look like. And like a superhero, you’ve been a model of courage. Keep at it! Show the world that it doesn’t take a superstar PhD like Dawkins or Pinker to inspire awe and wonder at the mysteries of the real world.

    I watched your coming out video and was a bit upset with Susan Jacoby, who seemed to suggest that the secular movement has no inspirational vocabulary. Clearly she’s never actually read Dawkins. And I don’t know where they get the idea that he insults people and calls them idiots. The worst I’ve ever heard him call someone is “ignorant”, and justifiably so, as they were demonstrating a total lack of understanding of Evolutionary Theory at the time.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

